AA Hospitality AwardsThe AA has announced the shortlist for the 2012 Chefs’ Chef of the Year award, with 15 of the UK’s most celebrated chefs up for the title.

The prestigious accolade is voted for by all UK establishments holding AA Rosettes and this year’s shortlist includes industry heavyweights such as Michel Roux Jnr, Sat Bains and Claude Bosi.

Other chefs nominated for the award are former Catey Chef of the Year winners Angela Hartnett, David Everitt-Matthias and Pierre Koffmann, as well as Michelin-starred chefs Jason Atherton, Daniel Clifford, Simon Rogan and Tom Kitchin. Tom Aikens, Richard Corrigan, Nigel Haworth, Michael Wignall and Jeff Bland complete this year’s shortlist.

“For the AA Chefs’ Chef Award a shortlist is drawn up annually of AA Rosette chefs who have made a strong impact and have positively influenced other chefs, both in the eyes of our inspectors and based on feedback we have received from the industry,” said Giovanna Grossi, AA hotel services group area manager.

“They will have shown continued commitment to their profession and be worthy of recognition for their performance over the past year.”

While establishments are able to add nominees to the shortlist, previous winners are of the award are excluded. Former winners include Michel Roux, Heston Blumenthal, Marco Pierre White, Gordon Ramsay, Raymond Blanc, Marcus Wareing and Andrew Fairlie.

The AA’s Chefs’ Chef Award will be presented at the AA Hospitality Awards on 24 September at the London Hilton Park Lane.

The AA’s Chefs’ Chef Award shortlist is:

Michel Roux Jr, Le Gavroche, London
Simon Rogan, L’Enclume, Cartmel, Cumbria
Angela Hartnett, Murano, London
Claude Bosi, Hibiscus, London
Nigel Haworth, Northcote Manor, Langho, Lancashire
Jeff Bland, Number One, Edinburgh
Pierre Koffmann, Koffmann’s, London
Daniel Clifford, Midsummer House Restaurant, Cambridge
Tom Kitchin, The Kitchin, Edinburgh
Jason Atherton, Pollen Street Social, London
Sat Bains, Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms, Nottingham
Richard Corrigan, Corrigan’s Mayfair, London
Tom Aikens, Tom Aikens Restaurant, London
David Everitt-Matthias, Le Champignon Sauvage, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Michael Wignall, The Latymer, Bagshot, Surrey