photo 1This week we announced our 40 semi-finalists for The National Chef of the Year and it’s been amazing to see so many messages of support for those chefs who made it into the next round.  The standard was extremely high this year and our judges had a really difficult task selecting which chefs would be in the semi-final.

We thought you may be interested to discover who was helping to decide which 40 chefs to put through. Thank you to all these judges who freely gave up their time to read through every entry and join our deliberations last Friday.

Good luck to the chefs who will be spending the next few weeks practicing their dishes ready for the London and Sheffield semi-finals.  We’ll be tweeting during the build up from @Craft_Guild and using the hashtag #NCOTY.

Our Round One NCOTY judges were:-

David Mulcahy, Craft Guild of Chefs

Phil Howard, Chef/Proprietor, The Square

Steve Scuffell, Craft Guild of Chefs

Clare Smyth, Head Chef Restaurant Gordon Ramsay , Royal Hospital Road

Peter Joyner, Elior

Hrishikesh Desai, Executive Head Chef , Gilpin Hotel and Lake House

Lee Maycock, Craft Guild of Chefs

Gary Hunter, Westminster Kingsway College, London

Henry Brosi, The Dorchester, London

Hayden GrovesBaxterStorey and 2013 NCOTY Title Holder

Dessert only     

Sarah Hartnett, Pastry Chef, Park Lane Sheraton

Julie Sharp, Technical advisor, Barry Callebaut