Entries are now being accepted for the 2014 Guild of Food Writers Awards and the closing date for entry forms is Tuesday 21 January 2014. In addition to a beautifully engraved glass trophy, the winning entry in each category will receive a prize of £500.


The Guild of Food Writers Awards were established in 1996 and are presented in recognition of outstanding achievements in food writing and broadcasting. The awards remain the only ones that are judged entirely by entrants’ peers: professional food writers, journalists and editors.


Full details are now available at www.gfw.co.uk/guild-of-food-writers-awards.cfm and the Awards entry form can be downloaded from the site.


There are 14 awards:

Cookery Book of the Year Award

Derek Cooper Award for Campaigning and Investigative Food Writing

Evelyn Rose Award for Cookery Journalist of the Year

Food Blog of the Year Award

Food Book of the Year Award

Food Broadcast of the Year Award

Food Journalist of the Year Award

Food Magazine or Section of the Year Award (Sponsored by Tenderstem®)

Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book

Kate Whiteman Award for Work on Food and Travel

Michael Smith Award for Work on British Food

Miriam Polunin Award for Work on Healthy Eating

New Media Award

Restaurant Reviewer of the Year Award


The Guild is still seeking sponsors for the non-sponsored categories; please email sponsorship@gfw.co.uk if you are interested in finding out more.


The closing date for forms to reach the administrator is Tuesday 21 January 2014 and all materials must be with the members of the juries by Friday 31 January 2014.


The winners of each prize will be announced at the Guild of Food Writers Awards ceremony in late May or early June 2014.