An elite line up of judges has whittled down a record number of entries for the 2012 Craft Guild of Chefs Awards to reveal the nominees for 15 categories.

They will now have to wait until the special awards ceremony on Wednesday, June 13, at Wembley Stadium to find out which of them has won these coveted prizes.

There are 16 awards in total, 14 open to nominations, and two in the hands of a special team of Craft Guild member judges. The latter includes the Special Award, chosen by the committee of the Craft Guild of Chefs, which is presented to the person who above all has made an enormous contribution to the industry. The Craft Guild’s committee also judges the New Restaurant of the Year Award.

The nominees for each award category are:
Apprentice Chef Award
Conor McLean, The Savoy
Lyndsay Michie, La Gavroche
April Partridge, The Ivy

Armed Services Chef Award
Alun Davies, Royal Air Force
Mark Sweeney, Royal Air Force
Laura Willison, Royal Navy

Banqueting & Event Chef Award
Darren Deadman, Leiths
Phil Herd, Levy Restaurant
Tom Parry, Sodexo Prestige

Competition Chef Award
Mark Hill, House of Commons
Javier Mercado, Westminster Kingsway College
Adam Smith, The Ritz London

Contract Catering Chef Award
Mark Crowe, Elior UK
Glynn Lawrence, Sodexo Prestige
Danny Leung, Lexington

Cost Sector Chef Award
Mark Hancock, University of West Sussex
Sheila Mingay Sales, Crocus Fields (Nottingham City Council)
Ryan Wilson, Sodexo

Development Chef Award
Antony Bennett, La Tasca
Robin Turner, Sodexo
Andy Twells, Marks & Spencer

Education Chef Award
Ian Baillie, South Downs College
John Crowe, North West Regional College
Gary Hunter, Westminster Kingsway College

Ethnic Chef Award
Mehernosh Mody, La Porte des Indes
Rakesh Ravindran Nair, The Cinnamon Club
Sudha Shankar Saha, Saffron

New Restaurant of the Year Award
Pollen Street Social, London – Jason Atherton
Rocksalt, Folkestone – Mark Sargeant
Roganics, London – Simon Rogan

Pastry Chef Award
Cherish Finden, The Langham
Martin Powell, RAC Club
Yolande Stanley, Westminster Kingsway College

People’s Choice Award
Geoff Acott, Craft Guild of Chefs
Paul Gayler, The Lanesborough
Peter Hazzard, Chaddlewood Consultancy
Michael Kitts, Emirates Culinary Academy of Hospitality Management

Pub Restaurant Chef Award
Jean-Philippe Bidart, The Millbrook Inn
Rob Hartwell, The Peach Pub Company
Gary Witchalls, The Mole Inn

Restaurant Chef Award
Richard Allen, Grand Jersey Hotel and Spa
Morgan Meunier, Morgan M Ltd
Paul Shields, The Covent Garden Hotel

Young Chef Award
Rosa Fothergill, The Rhinehouse Hotel
Ben Murphy, Pierre Koffmann at The Berkeley
Andrew Tomkinson, The Dorchester

To share in this amazing experience, book now for the Craft Guild Awards by visiting

For further information, please log onto